WITH the highest civilian awards to Karnataka chief S M Krishna and the late Samajwadi Occasion supremo Mulayam Singh Yadav, the Narendra Modi authorities Wednesday scored a number of political factors with its Padma record.

Krishna is a pacesetter of the highly effective Vokkaliga group in poll-bound Karnataka, whereas Mulayam stays one of the crucial revered names within the nation among the many OBCs, whom the BJP has been making an attempt to woo. Tripura tribal doyen N C Debbarma will get a Padma Shri, simply days forward of voting within the state. From the Northeast, a area excessive on the BJP’s precedence record, Thounaojam Chaoba Singh additionally will get a Padma Shri.


At 90, Krishna may need misplaced political credence lately, however the former Karnataka CM and ex-Union minister is taken into account essentially the most outstanding Vokkaliga chief after former prime minister and JD(S) chief H D Deve Gowda within the state.

Krishna was at all times seen because the urbane face together with his international schooling, and remains to be extensively regarded in Bengaluru as one of many chief architects of the event of the town.

After almost 5 many years within the Congress, the place he served in prime positions resembling CM, Minister for Exterior Affairs and Governor of Maharashtra, Krishna joined the BJP in 2017. It was seen as an effort by the social gathering to achieve a foothold in south Karnataka and among the many dominant Vokkaligas.

Mulayam Singh Yadav

The SP founder who died on the age of 82 in October final 12 months was a follower of Ram Manohar Lohia and the architect of OBC politics in Uttar Pradesh, who was elected to the state Meeting eight occasions, served as an MP seven occasions, held the Defence portfolio below the United Entrance authorities, and was the CM of UP thrice.

Mulayam was the one bulwark in opposition to the BJP’s temple politics in UP for a very long time. It was throughout his first regime as CM in 1989 that police had opened fireplace on kar sevaks gathered in Ayodhya. Whereas he later regretted the incident, he by no means stopped believing that the motion was crucial to guard a non secular place.


The previous Tripura income minister was the founder president of the Indigenous Folks’s Entrance of Tripura (IPFT), the tribal social gathering that was a helpful ally for the BJP because it fashioned its first authorities within the state in 2018. The Padma Shri to him comes at a time when the IPFT is slipping away from the BJP, and one other tribal social gathering, the TIPRA Motha, has emerged because the stronger contender for the group’s vote.

Thounaojam C Singh

A former Congress chief, Singh gained the Nambol Meeting seat 5 occasions and was the Deputy CM of Manipur from 1994 to 1995. The subsequent 12 months, he was elected to the Lok Sabha and went on to go the Congress within the state. After re-election to the Lok Sabha in 1998 and 1999 on Congress ticket, Singh joined the BJP previous to the 2004 common elections. After he gained, he was inducted as MoS Tradition, Youth Affairs and Sports activities, within the Vajpayee authorities. He additionally turned the Manipur BJP chief and held the put up until 2006.

He was one of many front-runners to be CM in  2017. Nevertheless, he misplaced out to N Biren Singh.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here