Kiwis and Kiwi Ferns named for Rugby League World Cup

James Fisher-Harris of the Panthers

James Fisher-Harris named for Rugby League World Cup.

Again-to-back NRL premiership winners James Fisher-Harris, Moses Leota and Scott Sorensen are amongst six grand finalists named within the New Zealand Kiwis’ 24-man squad for the Rugby League World Cup in England.

The trio have been confirmed after making spectacular contributions in Penrith’s 28-12 victory over the Parramatta Eels in Sunday’s NRL decider in Sydney.

The Penrith gamers are joined by Dylan Brown, Isaiah Papali’i and Marata Niukore from the overwhelmed Eels facet.

All six gamers had been within the Kiwis’ prolonged squad which went into camp for the June Take a look at in opposition to Mate Ma’a Tonga at Mount Good Stadium, a match which noticed Brown, Niukore and Leota make their New Zealand Take a look at debuts alongside the beforehand capped Fisher-Harris and Papali’i whereas Sorensen was on the prolonged bench.

“Choosing the squad for the World Cup was an actual problem given the standard of gamers in competition,” Kiwis head coach Michael Maguire stated.

“There have been some robust calls to make however we’re excited in regards to the group we have settled on.”

Seasoned center forwards Jared Waerea-Hargreaves and Isaac Liu plus fullback-centre Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad return.

Waerea-Hargreaves and 2019 Kiwi Nicoll-Klokstad had been unavailable for the Tonga Take a look at on account of damage whereas Liu, after being initially chosen, remained in Australia to be together with his spouse for the delivery of the couple’s second youngster.

The one new face within the squad is 23-year-old centre Sebastian Kris, who has scored 25 tries in his 44 NRL appearances for Canberra.

Born in Brisbane, Kris is of New Zealand descent via his Huntly-raised mom.

One other participant making a return is Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs hooker Jeremy Marshall-King. Uncapped at Take a look at degree, he was within the Kiwi squad for the World Nines in 2019.

Kiwi Ferns head coach Ricky Henry has confirmed his squad which incorporates 2022 NRLW Dally M medallist Raecene McGregor.

Following on from successful the 2021 NRLW Premiership with the Sydney Roosters earlier this 12 months, McGregor dominated this season main with 10 attempt assists.

She was additionally the membership’s first participant to select up Halfback of the 12 months within the NRLW Group of the 12 months.

Additionally chosen within the squad was dual-code star Shanice Parker who took half on this 12 months’s NRLW Grand Last for the Newcastle Knights in opposition to the Parramatta Eels.

Brisbane’s powerhouse props Annetta-Claudia Nu’uausala, Amber-Paris Corridor and Brianna Clark bolster an already sturdy ahead pack alongside their teammate Crystal Tamarua.

Tamarua made a exceptional comeback to the sport this 12 months from an ankle damage that compelled her to withdraw from final season with the Titans.

Madison Bartlett of New Zealand runs in a try during the women’s rugby league test match between New Zealand and Tonga at Mt Smart Stadium in Auckland.

Winger Madison Bartlett is known as for Kiwi Ferns.
Picture: AFP

Gold Coast star winger Madison Bartlett and lock Georgia Hale had been additionally named, whereas their fullback Apii Nicholls earned the call-up after a two-year hiatus, alongside potential debutants Otesa Pule (Sydney Roosters) and Mele Hufanga.

Kiwi Fern veterans Krystal Rota, Nita Maynard and Charlotte Scanlan return to the roster, whereas Katelyn Vaha’akolo, Karli Hansen and Mya Hill-Moana, who all earned their Kiwi Fern debuts in 2020 in opposition to Fetu Samoa be a part of them.

Among the many standouts coming back from this 12 months’s June Take a look at v Mate Ma’a Tonga are Web page McGregor, Laishon Albert-Jones, Christyl Stowers, Autumn-Rain Stephens Daly, Roxy Murdoch-Masila, Kararaina Wira-Kohu and Hailee-jay Ormond-Maunsell.

“We’re excited in regards to the gamers we have listed based mostly on their present type,” Henry stated.

“The overwhelming majority are recent off NRLW campaigns including loads of expertise to the combination of leaders and new expertise.”

“I am actually trying ahead to seeing how we compete in opposition to top-tier worldwide groups over in York and I need to congratulate every member of the squad on this achievement of representing our nation on the World Cup.”

Kiwi Ferns squad: Amber-Paris Corridor, Annetta-Claudia Nu’uausala, Apii Nicholls, Autumn-Rain Stephens Daly, Brianna Clark, Charlotte Scanlan, Christyl Stowers, Crystal Tamarua, Georgia Hale, Hailee-Jay Ormond-Maunsell, Kararaina Wira-Kohu, Karli Hansen, Katelyn Vaha’akolo, Krystal Rota, Laishon Albert-Jones, Madison Bartlett, Mele Hufanga, Mya Hill-Moana, Nita Maynard, Otesa Pule, Web page McGregor, Raecene McGregor, Roxy Murdoch-Masila, Shanice Parker.

Kiwis squad: Nelson Asofa-Solomona, Jesse Bromwich, Kenneath Bromwich, Dylan Brown, James Fisher-Harris, Kieran Foran, Peta Hiku, Jahrome Hughes, Sebastian Kris, Moses Leota, Isaac Liu, Joseph Manu, Jeremy Marshall-King, Ronaldo Mulitalo, Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad, Briton Nikora, Marata Niukore, Isaiah Papali’I, Jordan Rapana, Brandon Smith, Scott Sorensen, Joseph Tapine, Jared Waerea-Hargreaves, Dallin Watene-Zelezniak.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here