Vishnu Deo Sai to be next Chhattisgarh CM, says BJP after key meeting of 54 newly-elected MLAs in Raipur | India News

NEW DELHI: Former Chhattisgarh BJP president and ex-Union minister of state Vishnu Deo Sai would be the subsequent chief minister of Chhattisgarh, the BJP mentioned on Sunday, ending days of suspense.
The choice was taken throughout a key assembly of the BJP’s newly-elected 54 MLAs in Raipur. Three observers, Union ministers Arjun Munda and Sarbananda Sonowal and get together common secretary Dushyant Kumar Gautam, had been additionally current together with the get together’s in cost for Chhattisgarh Om Mathur, Union minister Mansukh Mandaviya and co-in-charge for the state Nitin Nabin.
Sai, 59, gained the lately concluded meeting polls from Kunkuri in north Chhattisgarh, a area the BJP has swept.Sai hails from the influential Sahu (Teli) neighborhood which has a large presence within the Durg, Raipur and Bilaspur divisions.
The BJP gained 54 of the 90 seats within the state, whereas the Congress, which had gained 68 seats in 2018, was decreased to 35 seats. The Gondwana Gantantra Social gathering (GGP) managed to win one seat within the meeting elections.
It had been speculated that the BJP would go for an OBC or tribal chief minister if it does not choose get together stalwart Raman Singh.
The BJP swept the tribal-dominated Surguja division – the Congress had gained all 14 seats within the division in 2018 – which is being seen as the important thing to its beautiful victory within the state. Vishnu Deo Sai hails from this division.
Tribal communities account for 32% of the state’s inhabitants, and the BJP gained 17 of the 29 seats reserved for the Scheduled Tribes (ST) this time.
One tribal candidate of the get together additionally gained from the unreserved Premnagar seat in Surajpur district. Notably, the BJP had gained solely three seats reserved for the tribals in 2018.
The OBCs account for round 45% of the state’s inhabitants.
(With inputs from businesses)

Source link